Skip to content
Lieutenant Governor's Award for Maritime Achievement medallion, designed by Nusi (Ian) Reid

Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Maritime Achievement

This annual award recognizes and acknowledges individuals and organizations along BC’s coast and inland waterways who have made noteworthy contributions to BC’s maritime interests in the areas of science, technology, business, applications of maritime skills, nautical heritage and culture, art, and academic endeavours. The expanded scope of the award will also recognize Indigenous and traditional practices, environmental stewardship, and ensure diversity in nominees, recipients, and award administration.

Award Winners

Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Maritime Achievement

Lieutenant Governor's Awards 2023
Courtesy of John Yanyshyn, 2023.

  • Richard Chappell, Regional Vice President of Operations at Westwood Shipping Lines
  • Alec Dick, Ahousaht First Nation, Board Chair Coastal Nations Coast Guard Auxiliary
  • Dr./Captain Michael L. Hadley, Professor, Naval Officer, Historian
  • Robert Lawson, Boatwright, Maritime Historian
  • Verena Tunnicliffe, Professor Emeritus at University of Victoria School of Earth and Ocean Sciences
  • Abernethy & Gaudin Boatbuilders Ltd., Robert Abernethy and Jean Gaudin, co-owners and shipwrights

Frequently Asked Questions

Members of the Government House Foundation, the Maritime Museum of BC are on the committees, with representatives from the broader community and professional mariners administering the awards.

The beautiful award medallions feature the artwork of Nusi Ian Reid, a member of the Heiltsuk Nation in Bella Bella. A medallion will be awarded to each award recipient.

The S.S. Beaver Awards were retired in 2022. The scope and intention of the awards have expanded, as a collaboration between Her Honour, the Lieutenant Governor, and the Maritime Museum of BC. To recognize this collaboration, a new name and medallion have been introduced.

Nominations usually open in the spring and close in the early summer, and will be announced on our blog and social media.

The awards ceremony usually takes place in the late autumn.

SS Beaver Awards for Maritime Excellence


The Maritime Museum SS Beaver Medal for Maritime Excellence recognized individuals who made outstanding contributions to the marine sector in our Province. 

Over the 11-year existence of the MMBC SS Beaver Awards there were 51 recipients ranging from boat builders to naval architects to entrepreneurs to marine historians and artists to Arctic navigators.

Award Winners

SS Beaver Awards for Maritime Excellence

SS Beaver Awards 2022

  • Rear Admiral (Ret’d) Roger Girouard
  • Bill Maximick
  • John McKay
  • Captain Kevin Obermeyer
  • Captain Philip Nelson
  • Special award to MV Frances Barkley

  • Inspector Kenneth Burton RCMP (Ret’ d)
  • Margaret and Martyn Clark
  • Ian Maxwell
  • Robert Turner
  • Special award to Allied Shipbuilding Limited of North Vancouver

  • Gregory Marshall
  • Gordon Miller
  • Captain William Noon
  • Captain David (Duke) Snider
  • Special award to the Underwater Archaeological Society of BC (UASBC)

  • Yvette Myers
  • David Rahn
  • Kenneth Harford
  • Special award to team tug SS Master of Vancouver

  • Robin Inglis
  • Donald Krusel
  • John MacFarlane
  • Jane McIvor
  • Special award to the Wahl Family of North Coast Boatbuilders, represented by Edward Wahl

  • Campbell Black
  • Barrie Farrell
  • Captain Keith McLaren
  • Roland Webb
  • Special award to Sail Life and Training Society (SALTS)

  • Captain David Woodman
  • Captain Stephen Brown
  • John Horton
  • Dr. John Harland
  • Special award to BC Ferries

  • Captain Ronald Burchett
  • Sydney Heal
  • Helmut Lanziner
  • Special award to Pacific Pilotage Authority

  • Dr Barry Gough
  • Leonard McCann
  • Captain Tom McCulloch
  • Special award to the Remotely Operated Platform for Ocean Sciences (ROPOS)

  • Malcolm Barker
  • Dr. William Hick
  • Howard White
  • Special award to the Thermopylae Club of Victoria

  • Robert G. Allan
  • Peter Bernard, QC
  • Dennis Washington
  • Special award to the SS Coho, Victoria- Port Angeles ferry